Design Competition
The American Battle Monuments Commission engaged the General Services Administration’s (GSA) Public Buildings Service to act as its agent to manage execution of the memorial. A design by architect Friedrich St.Florian was selected for the memorial through a two-stage, open competition modeled on the GSA’s Design Excellence Program.

During Stage I, approximately 400 preliminary design visions were reviewed by an Architect-Engineer (A-E) Evaluation Board. Entries were evaluated on their originality, appropriateness, feasibility, and compliance with project requirements. The board selected six design visions to compete in Stage II.

Stage II design concepts were judged by a Design Jury. Evaluation criteria in this stage included design concept, past performance, specialized experience and technical competence, professional qualifications, and capacity to accomplish the work in the required time. The Design Jury identified the strengths and weaknesses of each concept and provided a rationale for their final ranking to the A-E Board. The board, in turn, reviewed the jury’s recommendations and interviewed the design teams before making a final recommendation to ABMC. St.Florian’s winning design was the unanimous choice throughout the Stage II process.

Bill Lacy, president of Purchase College, State University of New York, was the professional advisor for the competition.

A 10-member independent design jury, the majority of whom are nationally recognized design professionals, evaluated design concepts for the National World War II Memorial. The jury judged design proposals of six competition finalists selected from approximately 400 initial entries, and made recommendations to the Architect-Engineer Evaluation Board.

David M. Childs, senior design partner in the New York office of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP.

John S. Chase, president and CEO of John S. Chase, FAIA, Architect, Inc.

Hugh Hardy, FAIA, partner in Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Associates.

Ada L. Huxtable, former architecture critic of the New York Times.

Donald M. Kendall, co-founder of PepsiCo, Inc. and CEO for 21 years; World War II veteran.

Admiral Robert L. Long, USN (Ret); World War II veteran.

Laurie Olin, chairman, Department of Landscape Architecture, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, and a principal of Hann/Olin Ltd., Philadelphia.

Earl A. Powell III, director of the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C.

Cathy J. Simon, a founding principal of Simon Martin-Vegue Winkelstein Moris, she directs the firm’s architecture group (studio).

General John W. Vessey, Jr., USA (Ret); World War II veteran.

A 12-member architect-engineer evaluation board was appointed to evaluate design concepts for the World War II Memorial and recommend a project design team to the American Battle Monuments Commission (ABMC). The board evaluated more than 400 design visions before selecting six competition finalists. The board used recommendations from the Design Jury and interviews with design team members to prepare a selection report that the ABMC used to select Friedrich St.Florian’s winning design. The selection report was written by Bill Lacy, the board’s professional advisor.

Hugh Hardy, FAIA, a partner in Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Associates.

J. Max Bond, Jr., FAIA, formerly a principal of Bond Ryder James, Architects, recently joined Davis, Brodie and Associates.

Robert Campbell, FAIA, architecture critic of the Boston Globe and a contributing editor of Architecture magazine.

Edward A. Feiner, FAIA, chief architect of the Public Buildings Service at the General Services Administration (GSA), serving as the agency’s design advocate.

Colonel Mary A. Hallaren, USA (Ret); World War II veteran.

Mary Margaret Jones, principal landscape architect of Hargreaves Associates.

Diane Hauserman Pilgrim, director of the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum of the Smithsonian Institution.

Luther H. Smith, World War II Tuskegee Airman.

Cynthia Weese, FAIA, founding principal of Weese Langley Weese, and dean of Washington University’s School of Architecture in St. Louis.

Russell F. Weigley, distinguished university professor in the Center for the Study of Force and Diplomacy, Department of History, Temple University, Philadelphia.

Ambassador F. Haydn Williams, ABMC commissioner and chairman of its Site Selection and Design Committee; World War II veteran.

General Louis H. Wilson, USMC (Ret); World War II veteran.
Professional Advisor:

Bill Lacy, FAIA, licensed architect and president of Purchase College, State University of New York.